The second I touched down on Spanish soil early Friday morning, a smile came across my face. 

Looking out the window on the train ride to Valladolid was something I had been looking forward to. Seeing the Spanish countryside around me was beautiful, peaceful, and made me feel like I was back home (away from home). Hearing the Spanish spoken around me was music to my ears.
Picture
Now, I am all settled in my new piso, which I love. I have been participating in the fiestas of Valladolid this week and am the member of a peña, also something that has been so amazing. More on that later.

I have been eating new foods and drinking new drinks. My new favorite is Lorencito. Half sprite, half white wine. And I've been speaking Spanish more than I knew I could. 
This week I have started private English classes with some very kind families who have been eager to show me around the city they love so much. In just a week or so, I'll begin teaching in the high school. 

I don't think the smile that came across me when I arrived is ever going to go away!
9/7/2011 01:11:24 am

Yayyy! I've never heard of Lorencito; maybe it's a Valladolid thing?

Reply
Me
9/7/2011 07:11:37 pm

I assume it's only called "Lorencito" because the festivals are "Los fiestas de San Lorenzo". But it is delicious. Like a white version of Kalimocho, really. Half white wine and half sprite or 7up. I wonder if you could try it with different Fantas....yum.

Reply
9/8/2011 12:10:42 am

I'm a huge fan of tinto de verano, so I think I'll have to work on that lorencito :D I've heard of it, but I've never actually seen anyone drink it in Madrid. Maybe I'm not looking hard enough? Haha

Great blog!!

Reply
9/8/2011 10:40:44 am

I can't believe my name is Lauren and I've never heard of Lorencito! Valladolid sounds amazing, good luck!

Reply



Leave a Reply.