Dorothy said it best. "There's no place like home."

Living across the world from the home I have always known, I've created a new home for myself.
Picture
Not my house, exactly. But the Plaza Mayor.
Valladolid, Spain has been my casa nueva for about 3 months now. I knew and fell in love with the city last year after spending several weekends fiesta-ing (and siesta-ing) in the city. 

When I was given the opportunity to choose where to spend the next year, there was no hesitation. But that doesn't mean everything has been peachy-keen here. Every city has it's advantages and disadvantages. Inspired by a friend's post, I have decided to come up with the Pros and Cons of my new city life.

The word Valladolid in Spanish has no meaning, but is said to be derived from the words 'Valley of Sun'. A popular nickname for the city is Pucela (pooh-thell-uh).
Pros
-True Castellano (Castilian Spanish) is spoken here.
-We have a fútbol team. And they aren't terrible!

-Campo Grande. There's nothing like reading a book in the park and enjoying the view on a gorgeous afternoon.

-We have an airport.

-With the city's new AVE high-speed train you can get to Madrid in only 50 minutes. Choo choo!

-Valladolid has history. Christopher Columbus died here.
-Living in the capital city of your region means everyone has visited, knows someone who lives here, or passes by on their trip to whatever sitio. Easy access.

-3 wine-making regions surround us. Riberia del Duero, Rueda, and Cigales. Bottoms up!

-The clock in the city center above Caja Rural is what I like to think of as a Mini-Times-Square. It always lets me know how late I am as I run to catch the bus.

-The University of Valladolid evens out the ratio of elderly people to jovenes in the city.

-IKEA is opening in December. Take that, other capital cities of Spain! We have furniture and meatballs.

-The architecture is easy on the eyes.
Picture
View from Plaza Zorilla up Calle Santiago.
Picture
Plaza España
Picture
My apartment is on the other side of this building.
Picture
The bridge I walk across a few times a week.
Picture
Out with the skyscrapers, in with the old Cathedrals.
Cons
-The weather.

-The weather.

-Did I mention the weather? Valladolid gets what is said to be "Nine months of winter and three months of hell." And added to that, there is the famous fog and frost.

-Your own two feet are your main form of transportation. Not always a bad thing, except in that frio weather.

-The prettiest Cathedral and biggest/most beautiful Plaza Mayor are not here in Valladolid.

-Valladolid does not have cobblestone streets, so we miss out on the romantic Spanish night-time glow.

-With 300,000 people it is hard to make friends. ¿Como se dice "lost in a crowd"?
Picture
Not always a bad thing! Getting lost in a crowd of handsome Spaniards is nothing to complain about!
But, if the weather and the population are my only two issues, I've got nothing to complain about! Valladolid's pros outweigh any cons the city may have.

As much respect as I have for Dorothy, I prefer to side with Anonymous. "Home is where your heart is."

Who knows what the next year will bring, but this year, my heart is here with you...Valladolid!
Whitney
11/20/2011 08:21:15 am

Our lists/posts couldn't be more opposite. I need to start thinking of Valladolid as home, too, to get out of my funk. Thanks for your lists! Reminds me there are wonderful things in Valladolid.

Reply
Mom
11/20/2011 08:30:28 am

What ever happened to the saying that home is where your mom is?

Reply
Aunt Laura
11/20/2011 09:39:17 am

No Thanksgiving in Spain. We'll miss you this year!

Reply
Eduardo
11/20/2011 11:54:42 am

Hey, Jenny... sometimes your meet crazy people like me that prefer live in Toronto!!! Hahahaha Awesome words: siesta and fiesta. Probably the best things, but I don´t like siestas. I miss the spanish fiestaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa... Canada need more spanish fiesta!!!!!

Reply
Kreest
11/20/2011 11:45:21 pm

Psh, Valladolid isn't even that cold! I remember getting excited to leave my mountain village to come to Valla, knowing it was going to be warmer there. Bundle up, linda!

Reply
11/23/2011 09:02:18 am

Glad you seem to be rather enjoying it. I've only been to the Valladolid bus station. I haven't heard that many great things about it from the Spaniards I know, but from the Americans - yes! I wonder why that is...

Reply
Me
11/26/2011 09:49:56 pm

Kaley- they are just jealous! :) Next time you're in España, you need to come visit!

Kristen- the temperature just dropped yesterday. Come here in December, and then talk to me about what is cold and what isn't, Floridian.

Reply
12/4/2011 02:21:48 am

I will always have a special place in my heart for Vdoid, drinking cheap beers at Sotobanco and the little old house mom who kept me well fed in Valladolid. It may not be Seville, but it's where I first fell in love with Spain, and I'm happy to have had the experience of living there and being able to learn so much Spanish away from the typical guiri paradises!

Reply
Sofía Larios
7/10/2012 12:05:08 am

probably the worst thing is the weather but in País Vasco or Galicia or Burgos is much more cold than Valladolid. And is less hot than Florida.

Reply



Leave a Reply.