Picture
Today marks one week back in Spain. I have been the busiest little española with a week full of excitement and settling into my new casa.

Meeting families for private English classes, getting ready for school, learning the bus routes around the city, helping other Americans set up with phones and apartments, nightly fiestas in the peña, and attending my very first fútbol game are only a touch on the non-stop week that has flown by. 

One of the great things I experienced this week are LAS FERIAS.
Whether you call it the carnival, the fair, or the fan fair; Spain knows how to do it right.

The county fair back home is something I always look forward to. I found a ton of similarities in our fairs and the spanish fairs.
Picture
There are crazy flip you up-side down and make you scream attractions every few feet.
Picture
The guys here still want to win prizes for their girlfriends.
Picture
And there are rides that are fun no matter what age you are, or where you live.
But there are also some very unique rides, games, and gastronomy to a Spanish fair that you won't find in the US.
Picture
All vendors have full liquor bars, or specific stands sell special drinks.
Picture
Knock down 3 bottles of wine, win a ham!
Picture
Churros dipped in chocolate, or filled with chocolate. It took a lot of strength not to buy one of these!
If there is one memory I'm leaving with, it is my ride on the Rodeo ride, the toro loco (crazy bull...and that it is!) as La Whitney calls it. Sit on the bull and try to hold on while it jerks you in every direction possible. 

Amidst trying to hold your dress down, you'll be falling on top of small children, each other, and trying to get back up on the bull before the ride is over. I'm pretty certain the worker on the ride had never heard so many American screams of "Oh my God!" before in his life.

America, take notes: Best. Ride. Ever.

Picture
I'll be back again to conquer you toro loco, in pants next time instead of a dress.
9/10/2011 07:43:02 am

Hahaha oh Spain. I love the win a jamon prize they have going.

Reply
Kristen
9/11/2011 06:25:42 am

I remember walking through this on early Friday evenings! :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.