Getting ready to leave this week....FOUR MORE DAYS!!!!! (But who's counting?)

...I've been thinking a lot about what I'd like to accomplish in the next chapter of life.

Forget new year's resolutions. Now is the time to live, and live right! (Cue inspirational music). Different from my bucket list, these are personal goals, hopes, and aspirations I'm striving for in the near future.

10 things I Want Accomplish this Year
1. Make new friends, but keep the old.
2. Take a trip somewhere I don't have the desire to visit.
3. Read a novel, in Spanish.
4. Fall in love with something new.
5. Spend one week without internet.
6. Attend a futból match. 
7. Dress like a european.
8. Spend less money.
9. Affect the life of a student.
10. Remember how blessed I am.

What do you want to do in the next year of your life? It doesn't have to be January 1st to begin new goals, and you don't have to be loco enough to pack up and move across the world to have new aspirations for yourself either. Share with me some of your own!
8/29/2011 12:00:02 pm

Hey, I'm an auxiliar placed outside of Toledo, in Castilla-La Mancha. My top 10:

- Take a long roadtrip with new friends
- Ride on the back of a Vespa
- Decide whether to teach Spanish or ESL when I return to the States
- Less hesitation when speaking Spanish / improve Spanish skills
- To focus on the present rather than dwell on the past or obsess about the future
- To use the Internet considerably less and not check my Android every 5 minutes, to live in the moment
- Go to a wine tasting in the countryside
- To make a positive impact on my students
- To find a hot, intelligent Spanish boyfriend (we're being honest here, right?)
- To develop a new hobby (yoga? dance? guitar?)

Reply
Me
8/30/2011 06:34:22 am

LOVE your list Ally!

-To find a hot, intelligent Spanish boyfriend (we're being honest here, right?)

That's the dream! haha If only.

Reply
8/31/2011 11:48:17 am

Great list! I especially like (and share) your 1, 3, 4, 7, and 10. Well, really all of them.

@Ally, love yours too! good luck finding your future novio!

My list would be:

1. Put more energy into my long-distance friendships
2. Invest myself in learning how to be a good teacher
3. Take a road trip through Andalucía
4. Be more mindful of the present; be appreciative of something everyday
5. Be more assertive in Spanish conversations
6. Read some fiction everyday in Spanish and English
7. Educate myself in European politics
8. Be more outgoing and open up to new people
9. Learn how to cook Spanish food
10. Figure out what to do with my life!

Reply
Ally
9/6/2011 03:43:28 pm

Learning how to cook Spanish food was a good one too. I don't know how I didn't think of that!

Reply



Leave a Reply.